As of today, people in the state of Maine can carry concealed weapons without a permit.
Why on earth this legislation would be passed just after an influx of mass shootings over the last few months is beyond us.
People in Maine will now be able to carry concealed weapons without permit, background check or training. What is wrong with America?— Jessica Wynn (@wynnagade) October 14, 2015
Happy "It's Now Legal To Carry A Concealed Gun Without A Permit In Maine Dear God Are They Trying To Kill Us All" Day!— Zombie Handlen (@zhandlen) October 15, 2015
@visitmaine I'm wondering how many Americans will feel unsafe traveling in Maine now that concealed carry is law? Guess we will know soon.— charlie maher (@MaherCharcharo) October 13, 2015
The state’s new law applies to residents and non-residents ages 21 and over who have not otherwise been banned from carrying a firearm.
It also includes adults ages 18 to 20 who are on active military duty or who have been honorably discharged from the military.
In addition, keeping a loaded pistol or revolver inside a motor vehicle is allowed under the law.
"This is a poor piece of legislation that we're all about to suffer through,” Portland Police Chief Mike Sauschuck reportedly told local news station WCSH6.
Maine previously required a police-issued permit for all persons to carry a concealed handgun and the process to obtain a permit required the gun owner to undergo a background check and fingerprinting, take a gun safety course, complete a six-page application and pay a $35 fee, The Huffington Post reports.
“People think all of a sudden it’s going to be the wild, Wild West,” Jeff Zimba, a firearms policy consultant and gun safety instructor who testified in favor of the new laws, reportedly told the Bangor Daily News.
“We’re finding just the opposite -- people are signing up for safety courses. They want more education. They’re all saying doomsday, but we’re seeing just the opposite,” he added.
Really, Maine? Following the recent Umpqua Community College shooting in Orgeon, the Charleston church shooting in South Carolina, the shooting of the WDBJ journalists in Virginia, The Inglis, Florida shooting, the shooting of an 8-year-old girl by her 11-year-old neighbor in Tennessee and countless others, state officials still thought it was a good idea to allow residents to carry concealed weapons without a permit.
Do you need any more proof that people ABUSE guns?
Other states including Vermont, Alaska, Arizona, Wyoming and Kansas all have some variation of this concealed carry law. Montana and Arkansas also have similar laws, but with stricter limitations, according to The Huffington Post. In Maine, the only stipulations include remaining within state borders, being of the specified age and not previously banned from carrying.
Although violent crimes barely made up 6% of Maine’s crime in 2014, according to a crime rates report on maine.gov, it’s still a very dangerous and arrogant move to dismiss the fact that there is a nationwide gun violence epidemic just because residents in your state aren’t contributing to the bulk of it.
Let’s not forget that less than six months ago Maine had a serious shooting incident when five people in three towns were shot by registered sex offender Anthony Lord who snapped after police notified him he was a suspect in a kidnapping.
I’m sure there are other trigger-happy people in Maine who won’t hesitate to take full advantage of this new lenient gun law. We should be passing tougher gun control laws, not lax ones.