Supreme Court Rejects Gay Marriage Appeals From 5 States

The high court ruling might lead to gay marriage in 30 states.

Same-sex weddings were forbidden in Virginia, Oklahoma, Utah, Wisconsin and Indiana. 

Not anymore! Here comes the brides - or grooms. 

Today, the U.S. Supreme Court rejected appeals in all seven gay marriage cases before it. The surprise move allows same sex couples to marry in states where it was previously forbidden.  The high court's action means there will not be a national ruling on the issue, with litigation in states where gay marriage is still banned likely to continue.

"Any time same-sex couples are extended marriage equality is something to celebrate, and today is a joyous day for thousands of couples across America who will immediately feel the impact of today’s Supreme Court action," Chad Griffin, president of the gay rights group Human Rights Campaign, said in a statement.

Others are not so happy. 

The court could still take a future case, but its move on Monday is likely to send a strong signal to lower court judges that rulings striking down marriage bans are consistent with the U.S. Constitution.  

Other states will also be affected by the Supreme Court's decision, meaning the number of states with gay marriage is likely to quickly jump from 19 to 30. The other states would be North Carolina, West Virginia, South Carolina, Wyoming, Kansas and Colorado.




View Comments

Recommended For You

Organic Right Rail Article Thumbnails

People Also Read.